I know the rain

Are you sure?
Don’t you know?
Have you researched this?

It rains there a lot
100 inches
200 days, you know

You won’t know
anyone, its no where
3 hours from anything
Don’t you know

Oh I know
the rain very well
you see

I know shoulders hunched
beneath the unrelenting pelt of it
I know skin clammy to the touch of it
bundling myself as tightly as I can
against it seeping in through every crack

I also know cathedrals of green
trees as spires into the sky
draperies of moss that glow in the light

I know the mushrooms that rise, unfurling
in infinite variety of color and texture
they too thrive in damp and decay

I know these places as I know the bones in my own body
Safer even, than the bones in my own body

So yes, it will rain
I will be alone
But how can I be lonely?

And wouldn’t you know?
The sun has shone every day
since I arrived

Now I know the rainbow too.

Leave a comment